Puppies Who Leave and Tell Us About Their New Life

Yes, we miss our puppies who go off into the world with their new families and have big adventures! We hope each one does well at becoming a part of the family and are committed to helping in any way we can.

THE TALE OF THE DALE

Preface

My story began before birth. My future humans were retired, (and) wanted an Airedale pup who would specifically become a therapy dog. Thus their quest began. Armed with the knowledge three prior Airedale pups had imparted, they researched … THE perfect choice for their family. (Nancy of particular note routinely performs a puppy aptitude test on pups at seven weeks. She felt confident she could guide … a well informed puppy choice based on … the PAT test…) And so now my story unfolds…

The Beginning

I was born February 6, 2014 first male of a ten pup litter in Akron, Ohio. I wore a blue ribbon as an identifier. I then moved to Erie, PA at nine weeks old and was registered Seneca Seafaring Murray. My parents were CH Seneca Minnesota Razzle CDX RE AXP AJP and CH Seneca You Will Fancy This. Both parents were Champions and dad had titles in obedience and rally. Fancy was a gentle, patient soul and the Dunbars (my new humans) attribute my personality to Fancy’s upbringing.
As a pup, I was inquisitive, energetic and demanding…..a true Airedale Terrier (Terror)! Fortunately the Dunbars were experienced Airedale owners. We visited dog parks (once I had all my puppy shots), dog friendly venues and visited family members’ homes…. I ate at outside cafes, took car trips, stayed at various hotels and motels, experienced walking on different surfaces (interior and exterior), became accustomed to
various smells, sounds and different people. I learned to navigate stairs, elevators and different modes of transportation. I was exposed to wheelchairs and people with special emotional and physical disabilities. I even enjoyed sailing! … I had the confidence to handle situations that were the building blocks for my two most important milestones.

Therapy Dog Work Is Important!

Milestone # 1 (All in a Dale’s Work)

March 2018 my human, Doug, and I became a registered Therapy DogTeam with an international organization – Alliance of Therapy Dogs. Since then I have earned my CGC
(Canine Good Citizen), THDN (Therapy Dog Novice), THD (Therapy Dog), THDA (Therapy Dog Advanced, THDX (Therapy Dog Excellent) AKC titles. I also recently earned the CGCU (Canine Good Citizen Urban) title and have logged over 325 visits at schools, libraries, Veterans Hospital, nursing homes, private residences, emotional support residences, youth correctional facilities and universities to name a few. In his life’s work of making people smile, Murray  has passed another milestone. He has completed his 400th therapy visit. This earns him the THDD (Therapy Dog Distinguished) title.

Incidentally, my human mom, Linda, and I tested in June 2019 and we became a Therapy Dog Team for ATD as well.

Milestone # 2

Perhaps my biggest accomplishment came in April 2019. Doug and I completed and passed screening requirements to train for a Crisis Response Team. We were accepted into the
HOPE Training Program May 2019 and satisfied all the requirements so that we are certified as a HOPE AACR (Animal Assisted Crisis Response) duo. We have been deployed to several crisis situations including student suicides, unexpected student deaths, workplace shootings and Covid
vaccination sites. (HOPE is often asked by FEMA, the FBI, the Red Cross to provide comfort to victims, survivors and first responders of natural and man-made disasters.)
If that isn’t enough, dad and I are also responsible for completing continuing education credits each year for our HOPE renewal process. I have been trained by TSA so that I can fly in the plane with dad. And I have been exposed to all types of transportation. I have been in Coast Guard boats, Border Patrol boats, fire trucks, ambulances and school buses to name a few. This past summer we trained with horses to be respectful of them and were familiarized with MedEvac helicopters. Soon I will be training on a railroad so that I will be familiar with riding on a train. All this exposure training is important because we never know how we will be transported into a crisis or disaster situation.

It’s a Wrap

I love kids! I love people and other dogs! So please consider an Airedale Terrier. We are tenacious but I’d like to think we make great pets and companions.

~Murray~

February 6, 2024 — Murray just celebrated his 10th birthday and the completion of over 520 therapy dog and crisis situation visits!

March 5, 2024 — Murray passed away, just a week after his last 522nd visit. He is very much missed.

Another path taken by a puppy…

Gamble, from the Dream Team, training as a puppy in 2022 for his obedience debut. From Kali, owner/trainer: “I worked 5 years in the training department at Guide Dogs for the Blind in San Rafael CA and trained dogs in guide work. My goal with Gamble is to pursue an OTCH, and qualify/attend the AKC Obedience National Championship to represent the Airedale breed and so far he definitely seems capable!

My now-retired Pembroke Welsh Corgi has her OTCH (obedience trial championship), UDX2, OM3, RAE, VER and was also 2nd at the AKC Rally National Championships in the Advanced class in 2020 (score tied with 1st, slower cumulative time). She also has multiple HIT and HC awards to her credit….

I also put a UD on my first Airedale, who was from German working lines (sire was German Import KFT CH Royal Workers Index Sch III). He got me into competitive obedience. Wonderful dog and also a great worker and companion.”

Seneca Airedales are located in Bath Township near Akron, OH 44333. Please note our MAILING ADDRESS is Seneca Airedales/Nancy Secrist, PO Box 802, Bath, OH 44210. For more information, please direct your inquiries to our email at: aireseneca@gmail.com or by cell phone: 330-808-1285 We may also list updates on our Breeder of Merit page on AKC Marketplace.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.